Ar Tonelico Qoga – First Impressions

Err...what he said.

Alrighty, finally got my hands on the game itself. Ar Tonelico Qoga is vastly different from its predecessors, in terms of graphics, battle system and…er…age rating. 😀

Read on to discover a little more~

If you felt that the innuendo is over-the-top in the previous iterations, then this game will redefine it for you. The battle system has been revamped, and instead of the turn-based battles you instead get a more real-time system closer to that of the Star Ocean series.

The story also caught onto me quickly. It is genuinely humorous at the appropriate points, and there’s plenty of character development to be had for the two main ladies, who are much more than your typical stereotype than you may think. 😉

No, you can't have both.

I’m late into phase 2, and believe me, when it’s time for you to make the decision, I won’t be surprised if you have difficulty choosing. Who would you choose, Saki or Finnel?

This is shaping up to be one of the better jRPGs I had the opportunity to play on the PS3, after all the other sub-par series that have been released.  Localization is spot-on this time, the folks at NISAmerica finally put in some much-needed effort in the Ar Tonelico series.

Although the only disappointment is still the old problem of the game being randomly voiced – so you get some audio that can drop off halfway through a conversation, or suddenly have voices halfway through an initially unvoiced scene. And as usual, the English voice acting is laughable, so stick with the Japanese track. 🙂

Back to the game then, I’ll get a comprehensive review up sometime in the future. 😉

4 thoughts on “Ar Tonelico Qoga – First Impressions

  1. I’ve played games where the voice acting cuts in and out at certain key scenes such as a serious or humorous point in the game that are worth highlighting.

    Maybe I should pick this game up. I don’t know though… I mean, I dropped Star Ocean after a few hours…

    1. O.o
      Well, I don’t see why you’d drop this one. 🙂
      I’m nearing the end of the game as I write. Finnel’s True End. ❤

      The plot is great, befitting of a well-written visual novel.
      The environments are varied and the soundtrack's excellent.
      I think any jRPG fan will like this title. =)

  2. Damn man you are already farther than I am. I’m only at the beginning of Phase II, yeah I’ve been busy but still that’s just a piss poor excuse tbh. I am pretty sure I am going to go with Finnel. Who knows though, I said I was going to go with Luca in AT2 the entire time but I ended up selecting Cloche so I guess we’ll see.

    You’re right though this game is amazing and definitely one of the (if not THE best) rpgs I’ve played on PS3.

    Oh btw
    One of the best lines by a NPC in recent memory:
    You’re here to work, right? Then just use your room to sleep. I’m tired of cleaning mystery stains…

    1. Lol. I chose Finnel in the end.
      I guess some part of me liked her more. 😛 And after I did…
      …I heard there was a bug with Saki’s Cosmosphere at 100%. 0_o

      Didn’t read further, since I don’t want spoilers, but Finnel’s route is AMAZING.
      A great many emotional highs and lows. I’m late into phase 3 already.

      Sadly I’ve run outta time, so I doubt I’ll be able to finish even 1 route. D:
      RL can be such a chore sometimes. XD

Drop a comment!

